ANNE WERNER – WHAT REMAINS

SAM – STADTMUSEUM AM MARKT

After the end of World War II, the world soon headed toward a bipolar power structure in which nuclear weapons played a major role. West Saxony became part of the Soviet occupation zone and belonged to the GDR. As early as 1945, the search for uranium for nuclear weapons began — and was successful. Operations continued until the fall of the Berlin Wall, and the GDR became one of the largest uranium producers in the world. But not without consequences: Natural areas were destroyed. Groundwater levels dropped sharply. Radioactive dust from the tailings contaminated the environment. By 2019, 6.5 billion euros of state money had been used to contain the damage. The landscape was changed forever, and humans will have to live with the effects of what happened for a long time to come.

Anne Werner’s photo series “What Remains” is a poetic, subjective approach to the history of uranium mining in the GDR. Landscape photographs, architectural images, detailed shots of working equipment and images of historical documents combine to create a haunting work that not least tells of photography as a vessel of memories.

Anne Werner. Born in 1996 in Auerbach/Vogtland, lives and works as a photographer and picture editor in the region of West Saxony. She studied photojournalism and documentary photography at Hannver University of Applied Sciences until 2022. After graduation, she is working as a freelance photographer.

anne-werner.eu

Back to overview

© 2023 Wiesbadener Fototage gemeinnützige UG
Niederwaldstraße 18
65187 Wiesbaden

info@wiesbadener-fototage.de

Imprint    Data protection    Contact


Instagram

Facebook
Youtube

ANNE WERNER – DIE WISMUT– WAS BLEIBT

SAM — STADTMUSEUM AM MARKT

Nach dem Ende des 2. Weltkriegs steuerte die Welt bald auf ein bipo­lares Macht­ge­füge zu, in dem atom­are Waf­fen eine tra­gende Rolle spiel­ten. West­sach­sen wurde Teil der sow­jetis­chen Besatzungszone und gehörte zur DDR. Schon im Jahr 1945 begann man mit der Suche nach Uran für Kern­waf­fen – und wurde fündig. Der Betrieb lief bis zur Wende weit­er und die DDR wurde zu einem der größten Uran-Pro­duzen­ten der Welt. Jedoch nicht ohne Fol­gen: Natur­räume wur­den zer­stört. Der Grund­wasser­pegel sank stark. Radioak­tiv­er Staub von den Halden verseuchte die Umwelt. Bis zum Jahr 2019 wur­den 6,5 Mil­liar­den Euro Staats­gelder ver­wen­det, um die Schä­den einzudäm­men. Die Land­schaft wurde für immer verän­dert und der Men­sch wird noch lange mit den Auswirkun­gen des Geschehenen leben müssen.

Anne Wern­ers Foto­serie »Die Wis­mut – Was bleibt« ist eine poet­isch-sub­jek­tive Annäherung an die Geschichte des Uran-Berg­baus der DDR. Land­schaft­sauf­nah­men, Architek­tur­bilder, Detailauf­nah­men von Arbeits­geräten und Bilder his­torisch­er Doku­mente verbinden sich zu einem ein­dringlichen Werk, das nicht zulet­zt auch von der Fotografie als Gefäß von Erin­nerun­gen erzählt.

Anne Wern­er. Geboren 1996 in Auerbach/Vogtland, lebt und arbeit­et als Fotografin und Bil­dredak­teurin in der Region West­sach­sen. Sie studierte bis 2022 Foto­jour­nal­is­mus und Doku­men­tar­fo­tografie an der Hochschule Han­nover. Nach ihrem Abschluss ist sie als freie Fotografin tätig.

anne-werner.eu

© 2022 Wies­baden­er Foto­tage gemein­nützige UG
Nieder­wald­straße 18
65187 Wiesbaden

info@wiesbadener-fototage.de

Impres­sum    Daten­schutz    Kon­takt