FLORIAN RUIZ – PROJECT 596

KUNSTHAUS WIESBADEN

Lop Nor is a former salt lake, now largely dried up, located in Xinjiang province in northwestern China. The lake was used as a nuclear weapons test site. The first Chinese nuclear bomb test, code-named “Project 596,” took place in 1964. By 1996, 45 nuclear tests had been conducted underground and in the atmosphere. The region is still heavily contaminated with radioactivity.

Florian Ruiz: “I wanted to measure and depict the invisible presence of this danger in the desolate landscape. Through a digital process of assemblage, superimposition of image fragments and distortion, I want to reveal the danger of radioactivity and visualize the change of the atom. The transparency effects, the fractured perspectives give rise to a form that is in motion. The process reinvents and twists the landscape, creating a kind of vertigo, a discomfort.”

Florian Ruiz. Born in France in 1972. Lives and works in Japan. His work explores the limits of photography through various experimental techniques and processes. Processes that reinvent and transform the actual landscape. His work on imaging radioactive contamination has won several awards (Sony World Photography Award, Felix Schoeller Award, Art Photography Award) and has been exhibited at Paris Photo, Photo LA, Art Paris, Somerset House and Aipad New York.

florianruiz.photoshelter.com

Back to overview

© 2022 Wiesbadener Fototage gemeinnützige UG
Niederwaldstraße 18
65187 Wiesbaden

info@wiesbadener-fototage.de

Imprint    Data protection    Contact

FLORIAN RUIZ – PROJECT 596

KUNSTHAUS

Lop Nor ist ein ehe­ma­liger Salzsee, der heute weit­ge­hend aus­getrock­net ist und in der Prov­inz Xin­jiang im Nord­west­en Chi­nas liegt. Der See wurde als Atom­waf­fen­test­gelände genutzt. Der erste chi­ne­sis­che Nuk­lear­bomben­test mit dem Code­na­men »Project 596« fand 1964 statt. Bis 1996 wur­den 45 Atom­tests unter der Erde und in der Atmo­sphäre durchge­führt. Die Region ist immer noch stark radioak­tiv verseucht.

Flo­ri­an Ruiz: »Ich wollte die unsicht­bare Präsenz dieser Gefahr in der trost­losen Land­schaft messen und abbilden. Durch einen dig­i­tal­en Prozess der Assem­blage, der Über­lagerung von Bild­frag­menten und der Verz­er­rung möchte ich die Gefahr der Radioak­tiv­ität offen­baren und die Verän­derung des Atoms visu­al­isieren. Die Trans­paren­z­ef­fek­te, die gebroch­enen Per­spek­tiv­en lassen eine Form entste­hen, die in Bewe­gung ist. Der Prozess erfind­et und ver­dreht die Land­schaft neu, was zu ein­er Art Schwindel, zu einem Unbe­ha­gen führt.«

Flo­ri­an Ruiz. Geboren 1972 in Frankre­ich. Lebt und arbeit­et in Japan. In seinen Arbeit­en lotet er die Gren­zen der Fotografie durch ver­schiedene exper­i­mentelle Tech­niken und Prozesse aus. Prozesse, die die tat­säch­liche Land­schaft neu erfind­en und trans­formieren. Seine Arbeit über die Abbil­dung der radioak­tiv­en Verseuchung wurde mit mehreren Preisen aus­geze­ich­net (Sony World Pho­tog­ra­phy Award, Felix Schoeller Award, Art Pho­tog­ra­phy Award) und auf der Paris Pho­to, Pho­to LA, Art Paris, Som­er­set House und Aipad New York ausgestellt.

florianruiz.photoshelter.com

© 2022 Wies­baden­er Foto­tage gemein­nützige UG
Nieder­wald­straße 18
65187 Wiesbaden

info@wiesbadener-fototage.de

Impres­sum    Daten­schutz    Kon­takt