ANDREAS ROST – A FORLORN HOPE

GALERIE RUBRECHT CONTEMPORARY

The series by Andreas Rost was created in Kabul in 2007. Rost approached the situation on site intuitively. His classic black-and-white images are convincing both for their deliberately subjective language and for their poetry. They convey a feeling of everyday life in Afghanistan and at the same time give an impression of the prevailing patriarchal structures.

In one photograph, we look down on Kabul from TV Hill, site of the ISAF headquarters, together with the Afghan photographer Zabi. The diagonal road leads to the ruins of the Royal Palace past the Russian Embassy. The scenario is embedded in a majestic mountain range, a haze lies like a veil over the plain. The photograph breathes history. It looks harmless, yet every detail tells of life in Afghanistan. Not least of all of Zabi, who fell victim to a rake-ten attack. Like this picture, every photograph in this series has a story inscribed in it. In addition, Rost makes excerpts from his diary from 2007 accessible in the exhibition. The complete project is available in book form.

Andreas Rost. Born in Weimar in 1966, he was a member of the Round Table of the City of Leipzig as a civil rights activist. He studied at the HGB Leipzig with Arno Fischer and Evelyn Richter. With a group of international artists he founded the Kul-turhaus Tacheles. Since 1993 he has been working as a freelance photographer and artist. From 2003 to 2020 he was a representative of the ifa Institute for Foreign Cultural Relations. Since then he has been teaching at the weißensee kunsthochschule berlin. Andreas Rost is represented by the gallery Collection Regard.

andreasrost.com
instagram.com/andreas.rost.berlin

Back to overview

© 2022 Wiesbadener Fototage gemeinnützige UG
Niederwaldstraße 18
65187 Wiesbaden

info@wiesbadener-fototage.de

Imprint    Data protection    Contact

ANDREAS ROST – A FORLORN HOPE

RUBRECHT CONTEMPORARY

Die Serie von Andreas Rost ist 2007 in Kab­ul ent­standen. Rost hat sich der Sit­u­a­tion vor Ort intu­itiv angenähert. Seine klas­sis­chen Schwarzweiß­bilder überzeu­gen sowohl durch ihre bewusst sub­jek­tive Sprache als auch durch ihre Poe­sie. Sie ver­mit­teln ein Gefühl vom alltäglichen Leben in Afghanistan und geben zugle­ich einen Ein­druck von den vorherrschen­den patri­ar­chalis­chen Strukturen.

Auf ein­er Fotografie schauen wir zusam­men mit dem afghanis­chen Fotografen Zabi vom TV Hill, Stan­dort des ISAF-Haup­tquartiers, hin­unter auf Kab­ul. Die diag­o­nal ver­laufende Straße führt zu den Ruinen des Königspalastes vor­bei an der rus­sis­chen Botschaft. Das Szenario ist in eine majestätis­che Bergkette einge­bet­tet, eine Dun­st­glocke liegt wie ein Schleier über der Ebene. Die Fotografie atmet His­to­rie. Sie sieht harm­los aus und erzählt doch mit jedem Detail vom Leben in Afghanistan. Nicht zulet­zt von Zabi, der einem Rake­te­nan­griff zum Opfer fiel. So wie dieses Bild hat jede Fotografie dieser Serie eine Geschichte, die ihr eingeschrieben ist. Ergänzend dazu macht Rost auss­chnit­thaft Texte seines Tage­buchs von 2007 in der Ausstel­lung zugänglich. Das voll­ständi­ge Pro­jekt liegt in Buch­form vor.

Andreas Rost. 1966 in Weimar geboren, war als Bürg­er­rechtler Mit­glied am Run­den Tisch der Stadt Leipzig. Er studierte an der HGB Leipzig bei Arno Fis­ch­er und Eve­lyn Richter. Mit ein­er Gruppe inter­na­tionaler Kün­stler und Kün­st­lerin­nen grün­dete er das Kul­turhaus Tacheles. Seit 1993 ist er als freis­chaf­fend­er Fotograf und Kün­stler tätig. Von 2003 bis 2020 war er Beauf­tragter des ifa-Insti­tuts für Aus­lands­beziehun­gen. Seit­dem unter­richtet er an der weißensee kun­sthochschule berlin. Andreas Rost wird vertreten von der Galerie Col­lec­tion Regard.

andreasrost.com
instagram.com/andreas.rost.berlin

© 2022 Wies­baden­er Foto­tage gemein­nützige UG
Nieder­wald­straße 18
65187 Wiesbaden

info@wiesbadener-fototage.de

Impres­sum    Daten­schutz    Kon­takt